Posted by: Laura | February 20, 2010

Back to Work…Sorta

Well I’m getting settled into island life here in Kilronan. For those of you who have never heard of Kilronan – you are not alone. Kilronan is a quaint seaside village located on the island of Inis Mor in Ireland. Located just off the west coast in Co. Galway, Inis Mor is the biggest of the three islands that make up the Aran Islands. In fact, “inis” means “island” and “mor” means “big” but by most peoples’ standards, Inis Mor is anything but big. With only 900 residents you really get the opportunity to truly immerse yourself and feel like a member of the small community. And I love it.

Kilronan Hostel on the right & Joe Mac's Pub on the left

Working at the hostel is fairly simple and it gives me a chance to meet a lot of people from all over the world. Every morning I walk out of my front door to be greetedwith views of the fishing boats and sea gulls flying over the water for fresh food. Perhaps the most surprising thing for me is that it’s been sunny every day I’ve been here except for one day – and even then it was a crystal clear morning. I spend a few hours per day cleaning the rooms with Nik (from Canada) and Anni (from Germany.) After work we get a chance to roam around the island and see the sites. Despite the size of the island, there are plenty of places to explore, farm animals to pet, and old landmarks to visit.

View from my front stoop

Anni, Nik and I have all become fast friends – which is a good thing since we are living in close quarters. We’ve already had quite a few funny experiences with guests. We’ve had some guests we want to stay forever – as well as some guests whom we try not to laugh at behind their back. I told Anni one day that we should write a book “Memoirs of a Hostel Worker: My Life in the Aran Islands.” So now every time something funny or (we’ll just say) interesting happens, we joke that it should be included in the book. Before I left home I was worried I wouldn’t have anything to write in my blog but now I have no doubt there will be more than enough content to keep everyone entertained.

Nik, Laura, & Anni at Frenchman's Beach

There have already been countless good times…as well as some stressful times. But life is good and I am so glad I made the decision to come here. As the Irish say, “If you don’t like the weather, wait 15 minutes and it’ll change again.” I find you can use the same concept with life and work. I don’t mind the rain – and it makes the sun all the more special when it comes out.

Responses

  1. All this sounds wonderful. So glad to hear it. Yes, yes, yes…but the Hokies are playing Duke at Duke – they look GREAT and are leading (at this point) 12 – 8. Stay tuned. Now… carry on.

    🙂

    • so glad you are keeping me posted on the IMPORTANT updates from home!! love you! xxx

  2. Chica,

    It is interesting reading your blog and I am happy to see that you are enjoying yourself. You are a braver soul than I to undertake such an adventure. It is funny how caught up we become about our possessions and what are safe decisions for our life. It is refreshing to know that there are those amongst us who still have that true sense of freedom.

    Enjoy!

    • thanks, erik! good to hear from you. i don’t think i’m so brave as much as i needed to get out and shake things up a bit. 🙂 things are going great here – and i really think i made the right decision for this time in my life. glad to know i’ve got so many supporters at home. keep in touch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

